14 Beautifully Inspiring Photos of Rio’s Iconic “Christ the Redeemer” Statue

by -
Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Boston, Flickr, CC BY-ND 2.0

The Christ the Redeemer (Cristo Redentor) statue in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil is one of the most iconic landmarks in Christendom. Completed in 1931, it’s 98 ft tall and was included in the New 7 Wonders of the World.

Below are 14 amazing pictures of this beautiful shrine to Our Lord.

You can click on any image to view it full size. Enjoy!

Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Boston, Flickr, CC BY-ND 2.0
Play Sports Brazil, Flickr, CC BY-NC-ND 2.0
Gary Craig, Flickr, CC BY-NC-ND 2.0
Cristiano Casado, Flickr, CC BY-NC-ND 2.0
Brian Snelson, Flickr, CC BY 2.0
Rob, Flickr, CC BY-NC 2.0
Maxime Guilbot, Flickr,
Noel Portugal, Flickr, CC BY 2.0
ryan hurril, Flickr, CC BY 2.0
Cristiano Casado, Flickr, CC BY-NC-ND 2.0
Edward Weston, Flickr, CC BY-NC-ND 2.0
Chris Seward, Flickr, CC BY-NC-ND 2.0
Tsun Ho, Flickr, CC BY-ND-ND 2.0
iko, Flickr, CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

[See also: 6 of the Oldest Images of Our Lord Jesus Christ]

[See also: If Jesus Had Been Korean: 20 Rare Paintings of the Life of Christ]




  1. Hello I just wanted to salute you. The text in your post seem to be running off the screen in Opera. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I figured I’d say this to let you know. The layout look great though! Hope you get the issue solved soon. Cheers!!

  2. Appreciating the commitment you put into the blog and comprehensive material you offer. It really is wonderful to come across a website from time to time which is just not the same obsolete rehashed information. Great read! We’ve bookmarked your webpage and I am adding your RSS feeds to my Arvind Pandit web page.

  3. Our LGV (Large Goods Vehicle) HGV training is based in East London, and our LGV/ HGV courses are taught by qualified DVSA LGV & HGV trainers. LGV was formerly known as HGV, where it used to be referred to as HGV Class 2 (now called LGV Category C) and HGV class 1 (Now called LGV Category C+E).

Leave a Reply